I’ve seen this video before, but it’s making the rounds again today and I was reminded of how much I love it.

I’m obsessed with Ira Glass and This American Life to begin with, and when I first read this quote from him it really struck me. Even now, while I’m writing this post, I wish I could close that gap. It’s so helpful to remember that talent doesn’t necessarily mean skill, and you really have to stick with it day in and day out for anything magical to happen.

Now I watch this video whenever I’m feeling blue. What do you use to remind yourself to keep going when you aren’t feeling great about your work?

One thought on “Are you afraid of The Gap?

  1. Beth says:

    Loved that!! [Sorry for spam commenting.] And what I do when I’m not feeling good about my work… well, I go look at other artist’s who aren’t as good as me and then I feel better. Bwahaha, is that terrible? It’s ok though, because I know of many many many artists that are a million times better than me too. I’m not the worst, though.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

